top of page
Search
  • chrisdigeronimo97

Scrambling with Eric Devendorf

Updated: Aug 31, 2020

by Brian Abate, Chris DiGeronimo, and Gianluca Milea


“Behind every fearless player is a fearless coach who refused to let them be anything but the best they could be.”- Anonymous



On this edition of Scrambling we catch up with former Syracuse basketball standout, Eric Devendorf. Devendorf had an outstanding career with the Orange playing in 116 career games, finishing fourth in career 3-point baskets with 208, sixth in three-point attempts (550) and fifth in three-point percentage (.378). He also accumulated 372 assists, 170 steals, and shot 43.8 percent from the field and 79.5 percent from the free throw line. He tallied a total of 1,680 points which is 14th in school history.


Devendorf was a member of the Big East All-Rookie Team (2006) and a Honorable Mention All-Big East selection in his sophomore season. After tearing his ACL in his junior season, Devendorf came back stronger as a redshirt junior, averaging 15.7 points per game, helping Syracuse to a 28-10 record and a trip to the NCAA Sweet Sixteen. As a senior, he knocked down 82 three pointers, the 10th- best single-season total at Syracuse.


After declaring for the NBA Draft after the 2009 season, Devendorf enjoyed a seven-year professional career overseas and in the NBA D-League. Devendorf’s stops in the D-League included stints with the Reno Bighorns and the Idaho Stampede. His stops overseas included stints in Ukraine, Israel. Greece and the New Zealand NBL where he won two scoring titles (2010, 2016) and a championship (2010).


In October 2016, Devendorf was named the assistant strength and conditioning coach at his alma mater under his former coach Jim Boeheim. In September 2018, Devendorf was named Special Assistant to the Head Coach at the University of Detroit Mercy. In this interview we cover everything from his high school days at Oak Hill Academy, his college career at Syracuse, all the way up to his post-playing career as a coach of the next generation. Here is Eric Devendorf in his own words:


Q: Oak Hill is widely regarded as one of the best high schools for young basketball players. How did playing there with such top tier talent compare to your competition at Syracuse and ultimately professionally?


A: “Oak Hill really prepared me for the college level even before I got there. Being able to play with Kevin Durant, Ty Lawson, Jamont Gordon among others really prepared me for what was to come. When I arrived at Syracuse the adjustment wasn’t so much, I was already prepared to play at that level.”


Q: What was it like playing for legendary Coach Jim Boeheim? How did he prepare you to play at the next level?


A: “It was unbelievable playing for Coach Boeheim. All the knowledge he has from all the years coaching, I was just able to soak all that up. He really put me in a position where he let me play my game and gave me a lot of freedom. He taught me patience and I think I learned more of what he taught me after I left that just had to deal with me maturing as a person and a player. Coach is one of the best to ever do it and I am fortunate to have played for him and also coached beside him”.


Q: What was the adjustment like playing a 2-3 zone at Syracuse? Had you played zone in high school or was it mostly man?


A: There was definitely an adjustment playing the 2-3 zone, just learning the rotations and spots where I needed to be on the floor, especially when the ball started to move quickly. But now I know it like the back of my hand.


Q: Talk to us about the road to recovery after tearing your ACL in college. How difficult was it to stay motivated and be able to contribute at a high level after such a long absence from the game?


A: It was definitely tough more so mentally than anything. Just not being able to be out on the court playing the game that you love to play and this was really my first time ever being away for that amount of time from the game. It helped me become stronger mentally and really allowed me to focus on my rehab and get back to where I wanted to be which was back on the floor playing. I had a lot of support in Syracuse and I am thankful to this day for them helping me through that time. I was able to rehab successfully and get back to playing the game that I love.


Q: Was coaching something you always wanted to do after your career, or was it an opportunity that just presented itself?


A: I think for me I always wanted to stay involved with the game whether it was playing or teaching the game. I have a lot of knowledge to give back, all the coaches I have learned from over the years have helped me to be able to pass it down to the next generation and I think that it’s my responsibility to help teach these kids the game the right way. So it really just comes natural to me.

Q: What is one thing you learned as a player that you constantly preach to the players that you coach?


A: One thing I learned as a player that always helped me was stay consistent through the good and the bad. There will always be ups and downs but if you stay consistent with your hard work, usually there are more ups. I try to preach that to all young guys to stay consistent with your hard work through the ups and downs.

Q: Syracuse fans loved and opposing fans loved to hate you. How did you react to the way fans treated you and did it ever have an impact on the way you played in games?


A: I used to love going to play on the road, I fed off the hate that’s just the type of player I was. When somebody started talking to me that really got me going, and a lot of times I would start talking to myself to start getting myself going. The fans from the opposing teams are supposed to hate me, that’s their job when they root for their team. I really loved it and it got me going, that’s just the type of player I was and still am ‘till this day.'


Q: You played in the Big East, arguably the toughest conference in college basketball. What was that like and was it difficult to be facing tough teams every game during conference play?


A: I loved playing in the Big East, it was definitely the deepest and most talented conference in the country especially during my years there. I definitely loved the challenges night in and night out of facing every single team. There really was never an off night at all even when teams were losing they still had a chance to win every game they played in. That really made me better as a player to have to bring it every single game and not take any nights off.


Q: You had a lot of memorable moments at Syracuse. Do you have any favorites and why?


A: My favorite moment of all time is definitely the 6 OT game, and if I said anything else I would be totally wrong for that.

Q: You do a lot of work with camps, young players and with boys and girls clubs. Why is teaching the game to the next generation so important to you?


A: Like I said earlier I just feel it’s my responsibility to teach the game the right way and pass down all the things that were taught to me. Being able to share that knowledge is important for the younger generation as they grow up and go through all the ups and downs. Now they have the tools to be able to work with those situations when they do come about. I really enjoy seeing the growth of these young players after they put the work in.




18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page