top of page
Search
chrisdigeronimo97

Scrambling with Justin Champagnie

by Brian Abate, Chris DiGeronimo, and Gianluca Milea


“I’ve always thought that he was a tough kid. Where he’s from, where he played in high school, who he played for, his family, his background, and all of those things play into me not being surprised about his success”- Coach Jeff Capel


On this edition of Scrambling we catch up with Pitt sophomore forward Justin Champagnie. Champagnie had an outstanding freshman season for the Panthers averaging a team-leading 12.7 points and 7 rebounds per game. He recorded one of the top freshman seasons in program history finishing in the top five of the freshman record books in points, points per game, double figure scoring games, 20+ point games, 30+ point games, field goals, field goal attempts, rebounds, double-figure rebounding games, minutes played, and minutes per game. He also became the first freshman since Charles Smith in 1984-85 to lead the team in scoring and rebounding, while also joining Smith and DeJuan Blair as the only freshman in program history to score 400 or more points and grab 200 or more rebounds in a season. We cover everything from his hometown of Brooklyn, NY to his future plans as he progresses through his college career.


Q: You played for Bishop Loughlin High School in Brooklyn, how did the style of play in the CHSAA and the coaching at Loughlin prepare you for your freshman year at Pitt?


A: Loughlin prepared me for the next level completely in all aspects. I’ve played with some great players and it showed me that in order to get to the next level you must always prepare and work hard.


Q: You had a very successful freshman year, you led the team in scoring and rebounding, won ACC freshman of the week multiple times, and had a big ACC tournament performance. How do you expect to capitalize on that success in your second year and what are some goals that you want to accomplish?


A: I just expect to help my team win and get back to the top. I don’t really worry about everything else, I'm going to keep doing what I do for my team.


Q: You got snubbed for the ACC All-Freshman team. How did that make you feel, and did that give you any extra motivation going into the ACC Tournament?


A: I felt disrespected but at the same time I respect everyone who made the list.



Q: Over the past few years we’ve seen a surplus of high school talent come out of Chicago, LA, Washington D.C. and down south but very few prospects have come out of New York City. What is your opinion on the state of New York City basketball and do you think your presence on the national stage can help influence the next generation of talent?


A: I think New York City basketball is great. It’s just that a lot of kids don’t get the opportunity to make it out. I feel like I can influence the next generation.


Q: What was your favorite achievement from your freshman year at Pitt?


A: My favorite achievement was getting National Freshman of the Week.


Q: How has having a brother who also plays basketball helped you? What has it been like going to different schools?


A: It helps a lot having a brother who plays. He always gives me advice on how to be better and it helps. It’s weird that we don’t play together; we've always been on the same team.


Q: You’ve played in some of the NCAA’s most famous arenas. Other than your home games, what has been your favorite place to play and why?


A: Favorite place to play is North Carolina.



Q: Coach Capel spent time as an assistant to Coach K, widely regarded as one of the best coaches of all time. How important has Coach Capel’s guidance been in your development as a player and what’s your favorite part about playing for him?


A: Coach Capel is great, he’s helped me a lot. He’s given me great guidance and confidence to be the player that I am.


Q: What are your goals for your basketball career at Pitt and have you set any for life beyond college ball?


A: My goal at Pitt is to bring this program back to the top. That’s my only worry as of now.


Q: Any advice for young basketball players from New York who have dreams of playing D1 ball?


A: I would just tell them to work hard and never let anyone tell them they can’t do something.


Q: How did growing up in Brooklyn and spending time in Carroll Park help develop your game when you were young?


A: Growing up in Brooklyn you had to be tough, and I used to play with other guys at a young age so that helped me get a sense of mental and physical toughness.




21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page